ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

SB 625- Public Safety - Police Accountability - Investigation Records Relating to Unfounded and Exonerated Complaints

SUPPORT

February 25, 2025

The Honorable William C. Smith Jr., Chairman Judicial Proceedings Committee 2 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE:

SB 625- Public Safety - Police Accountability - Investigation Records Relating to Unfounded and Exonerated Complaints

Dear Chairman Smith:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>SUPPORT</u> Senate Bill 625 - Public Safety - Police Accountability - Investigation Records Relating to Unfounded and Exonerated Complaints which is being heard in the Judicial Proceedings Committee.

We request a favorable report on Senate Bill 625. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/030

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Todd Morgan
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 \bullet CHESAPEAKE BUILDING \bullet 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 \bullet 1350 \bullet FAX 301.475.4935 \bullet www.stmaryscountymd.gov \bullet CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV